Have you been involved in an
auto accident in Missouri? If so, hopefully the party at fault had enough insurance coverage to
pay for the damage to your car, your medical treatment, and damages for
your pain and suffering. In today's world, all too often this is not
the case and people drive around with minimum insurance coverage or no
coverage at all.
In Missouri, the law only requires a driver to maintain a $25,000 policy.
In many cases, this minimum requirement is not enough to cover a person's
medical bills in situations where they are injured in an auto accident.
For example, our law firm represented a family of six individuals who
were all injured in an auto accident while driving home from school in
their minivan. The person who hit them had a $25,000 minimum coverage
policy and no assets personally. Our clients' medical totaled well
over $75,000. Consequently, the policy limit had to be divided up between
the six family members and they were each only able to pay off a portion
of their medical bills.
Like many people, our clients in the case mentioned above were not aware
of the option to purchase underinsured motorist coverage (UIM coverage).
UIM coverage is not required in Missouri and not all insurance agents
inform their clients about it. This coverage applies when the person that
hit you, the tortfeasor, has insurance but it is not enough to cover the
claim of damages.
If you have UIM coverage and are involved in an accident, it would be wise
to consult with an attorney prior to settling with an insurance company.
There are certain rules and requirements you must follow in order to recover
under UIM coverage. If you are in need of a lawyer to pursue such a claim,
contact the injury attorneys at Millikan Wright, LLC for a free consultation.