Driving Without A Commercial Driver's License
Skilled St. Louis Criminal Defense For Any Case
The charge of a Class A
misdemeanor can occur should you be pulled over without the proper commercial driver’s
license or CDL classification for the vehicle you are operating. To avoid
this charge, as well as the
suspension of your license and potential loss of your employment, it is best to learn about the Missouri
State laws on operating a commercial vehicle and attaining the proper
licensing. However, if you have already been pulled over and charged for
driving without a commercial license, our experienced lawyers can help.
With the assistance of a former police officer and a former prosecuting
attorney, the lawyers at Millikan Wright, LLC have over 50 years of combined
experience assisting clients across Missouri driving without a commercial
driver’s license. We can help you. Get your
free case evaluation now.
Do I Need a CDL?
Commercial driver’s licenses are required for those needing special
skills and knowledge to operate a certain kind of motor vehicle. Since
these vehicles differ from many cars and trucks, not anyone will be able
to pop in the driver’s seat and safely and properly operate their controls.
In the state of Missouri, you must have a CDL to operate any of the following vehicles:
- Any single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001
pounds or more.
- A combination vehicle with a gross combination weight rating of 26,001
or more pounds, if the trailer(s) has a GVWR of 10,001 or more pounds.
- A vehicle designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver).
- Any size vehicle which requires hazardous material placards or is carrying
material listed as a select agent or toxin in 42 CFR part 73.
Driving any of these vehicles without a CDL can find the driver facing
numerous consequences. CDL holders face tougher laws than other drivers,
and may even find themselves facing federal penalties if caught without
the proper license.
Defense Tactics From Millikan Wright, LLC
With the possibility of up to one year in jail or a $1,000 fine, it is
important you seek legal counsel should you get charged with a misdemeanor
for driving without a CDL. If you have a previous driving without a commercial
driver license charge, your case could prove to be quite complex and require
the experienced lawyers at
Millikan Wright, LLC.
We are experienced in the defense of traffic law misdemeanor crimes. We
will find an appropriate strategy to defend you for driving without a
CDL or help formulate options that are available to you. Most defense
strategies center on specific conditions of your individual case so our
experienced traffic law attorneys can advise you on whether you have a
defendable case or not.